10 Yama & 10 Niyama To Bring More Value To Life!

January 01, 2018 Breathe, Happiness, healthy, Meditate, Pranayam, Relax, Spiritual, Who We Are, yoga, health, nature 0 Comments


Understanding Astang Yog: The Values of Sage Patanjali’s Eight Limbs of Yoga: 

Astanga Yoga means eight limbs of yoga according to Sage Patanjali, who packaged yoga together three thousand years ago.


They are Yama (Rules of Nature), Niyama (Personal Rules of Self Discipline), Asana (Physical Postures), Pranayama (Breathing exercises for sublimating the life-force), Pratyahara (withdrwal of senses and going inward for peace and relaxation, like yoga nidra), Dharana (focus of mind), Dhyana (Meditation) and Samadhi (Self Realization, Freeing the Mind from all shackles with the sword of knowledge).


Laying A Strong Foundation In today’s yoga nidra we will reflect on the 10 yamas and 10 niyamas as well. They would take deep roots in our mind when we listen to them in a relaxed, receptive or in other words yoga-nidra-state of mind.


20 Values of Yoga


10 Yamas and 10 Niyamas

 These are the 10 Yama or the Rules that we are supposed to follow being a good citizen in the world. You will be able to understand better if you think of the opposite of the following 10 principles and try NOT to do those, for instance, Do Not be Violent, but practice Non-Violence. 


Let’s contemplate on the ten Yamas:


Ahimsa (Non Violence)

Satya (Truth)

Asteya (Non Stealing)

Brahmacharya (Making Most of all resources)

Aparigraha (Non Greediness)

Daya (Compassion)

Arjava (Straightforwardness)

Kshyama (Forgiveness)

Mitahara (Mindful Eating)

Suchih (Cleanliness)


Likewise, the following 10 Niyama are the rules for Self Discipline and Personal Excellence:


Tapah (Hard Work)

Santosha (Contentment)

Astikya (Self Faith)

Dana (Donating or Charity)

Ishwara-Pujana (Seeing Divine)

Siddhanta-Shravana (Self Study)

Hree (Avoid Shameful things)

Matih (Conscience)

Japa (Contant Remembrance)

Vratah (Vow)


There is a pleasure of being in the pursuit of being excellent, leading a value based life and getting engaged in experiencing deeper and enriched happiness.

Please practice today’s yoga nidra about being a resource to the Universe.


Learn More

Written by Manoj Joshi

Subscribe to Email Updates